The Best Intentions

When I set up my new website, I intended to blog regularly.  But I’ve been hesitant.  My website is focused on my musical career, but that isn’t where most of my attention has been going lately, at least not directly.  So for the time being, I’ve decided to make this a more general blog.  I never have been one to separate music from other parts of my life, so I’m sure it will all be interconnected in a meandering way in the end.

Like I inferred in my first post, we just moved to the mountains of Northern New Mexico and I have been living in a trailer for the last 1 1/2 months with no modern conveniences.  I’ve been overwhelmed by the beauty and also by the new way of life.  I have a lot to learn, and in many ways I feel like a child.

My days are spent walking, working, reading, doing yoga, playing guitar, cooking, eating, drinking, and making new friends.  Generally we are up with the sun and in bed when it goes down.  The dogs haven’t been on leashes since we got here, and they are happy and dusty.  I am amazed by my good fortune.

There are a couple of things to mention on the music front.  I played a show in my hometown of Albuquerque last week and got a nice writeup in The Alibi, the town’s weekly paper.  I’m also looking forward to going to the Kerrville Folk Festival at the end of the month and am learning some new songs by other people to play around the campfires.

If you have any suggestions for things to write about here, please let me know.  I’m also trying to add some traditional folk songs to my repotoire, so if you have any suggestions for tunes please send them my way.

~ by lamacanyon on 13 May 2010.

One Response to “The Best Intentions”

  1. I have another online friend who is “a modern day gypsy” juggling farm living with being an artist… here is one of her blogs: http://beyondvagabond.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

 
